Monday, April 11, 2011

Vegan "Jello"

So my friend/co-worker Meagan was bummed when she found out she couldn't eat jello the other day.

So I decided to make a recipe to show you all how easy it actually is to make "jello" vegan. 

The hardest thing you will need to find is "agar agar" which is available at most asian markets and some grocery stores.

You can also throw in chopped fruits into this, But I was never a fan of that.

  • 4 Cups -- Juice
    (I used Limeade, which is kinda like a juice, you can use koolaid or whatever you want really)
  • 4 Tablespoons -- Agar Agar Flakes
  • Food Coloring (optional)
Step One!
Add agar to juice and bring to boil in pot.
Step Two!
Reduce heat and simmer for about 5 minutes or until agar is dissolved.
Mix in food coloring and chopped fruit if you want at this point.
Step Three!
Pour into tray, chill overnight or until firm in fridge. Enjoy!

-Jordan Halliday


  1. Aside from some jello's that might have red dye 40 in them, what's the no-no in jello that makes it off limits? (plz tell me the hooves thing isn't true)
    On a sidenote; Oreos...I've heard the hooves allegation there as well. 4 either/both is their any documentation (neutral) that goes in2 why this/these food(s)is/are inappropriate?

    just a guy trying 2 come 2 grips w/this vegan maze.
    aka Phil_byDay on twittet.....have a good day.

  2. umm, I meant twitter. Sry 'bout that. :-)

  3. @pmknight jello is derived from tissue proteins inside animal skin & bones. As far as Oreos, I think you might be referring to bone char a process used in some sugar refineries? There is no evidence on either side that Oreos use that type of processed sugar without actually contacting nabisco. As far as neutral documentation goes. Just look at Wikipedia:
    Bone Char:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...